We probably don’t need to tell you that it’s never a good idea to drive without insurance. In Florida, like most other states, it’s actually illegal to drive without insurance.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident without insurance, there’s quite a bit to unpack. When you operate a vehicle without the proper insurance, you certainly risk legal repercussions as well as fines and spendy medical or autobody bills.
Let’s take a look at a few key factors to consider as it relates to car accidents without insurance.
Florida is a “No-Fault” State
Across the country, there are several states that are considered “no fault” states. Essentially, the term “no fault,” means that each driver is responsible for carrying their own insurance. This means that in the case of an accident, all drivers involved should file a claim with their own insurance company.
In Florida, auto policy requirements are designed to cover up to $10,000 in Property Damage Liability as well as $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection.
Without insurance you do risk your own safety, security, and driving privileges, but you also risk having to pay towards the bills of the other driver.
Who Caused the car Accident?
While we did mention above that Florida is a “no-fault” state, it does matter especially in the case of being without insurance.
Depending on whether this is a first time offense or if you’ve been caught without insurance before, you could be facing additional penalties and a revoking of your driver’s license.
If you were at fault, the other driver can, and most likely will, come after you for compensation. Hiring a lawyer to defend you will be your responsibility.
However, if the other driver is found to be at fault, you may be able to seek damages.
What If: You Have Insurance, But No Proof
If you’re involved in an accident and find yourself without proof of insurance, you can find yourself in a difficult situation.
Conversations get heated and people become upset, especially when their vehicle has been wrecked and they’re injured.
It’s important to carry proof of insurance with you while driving, but having insurance is better than not regardless of proof. You may get a minor fine or citation, simply provide proof of insurance and work with your attorney to remedy the situation.
At the end of the day, it is severely dangerous and reckless to drive without insurance. The likelihood that the situation will end in your favor is near impossible.
When you get behind the wheel uninsured, you’re risking your life, your license and your livelihood. It will likely be an expensive road ahead.
Unfortunately, if you’ve been involved in an accident without insurance, the damage is done.
The best advice we can give you is to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. They can help you determine whether you have a chance at seeking any compensation.
Please feel free to call us to discuss your case today.